Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is an oversight board, appointed by the Board of Commissioners for the purpose of overseeing the testing and eligibility criteria for all applicants for entry level positions and promotions within the Lower Swatara Township Police Department and is required by the PA First Class Township Code.

The Civil Service Commission shall have the power to make investigations concerning all matters touching the administration and enforcement of the approved regulations.  They shall have the power to issue subpoenas to require the attendance of witnesses and production of records.

All recommendations made by the Civil Service Commission for police employment eligibility, promotion, or discipline/dismissal are forwarded to the Board of Commissioners for their final decision. 

The Civil Service Commission is currently a three-member body.  It meets, at minimum, four times a year (January, April, July, and October) at publicly-advertised meetings.

NameTitle Term Expires
James Kazakavage



Paul Yoder



Cord Holliday



Tamara Reed

Alternate Member